At Sea for Pisco, Peru

sunny 80

I woke early this morning to start the “get ready” process. Laundry was first on my list, as I don’t want my wife to be faced with dirty clothes as well as a worn traveler. All the machines on three floors were in use. I can’t get the timing right, so I made trips about every twenty minutes until I found an empty. Since I set my own wash, I can come close to when it will be ready for the dryer, but, with all the choices, I have yet to figure when my stuff will be done. This morning, it finally occurred to me; there is a system at work in the launderettes. If your clothes are in the dryer, and the dryer finishes. Someone, who needs the dryer, will take out your clothes, fold them, and put them on a table. It wasn’t until this morning that I caught on to the scam. Laundry veterans know this, and just go about their business. Much later in the day they claim their nicely folded wash. Of course all this laundry knowledge will have to stay hidden when I am home.

At last night’s dinner, I sat next to a woman who has had a life that could be a book. She’s tough, crusty, and one of my favorites of the “solo” group. Her one fear is that a worsening knee problem may soon limit her travels. She is planning on surgery have next month, and is terribly worried about the result. Lucky for her, I have an old acquaintance who is an orthopedic surgeon, and one of the top knee experts in the country. I googled Dr. Jim Fox and got all the information for her. She just needs to call. I hope she does.

When the sun shines and the deck is warm, Mariner chefs prepare a themed buffet lunch. Today was seafood, king crab legs (Will we never run out?), shrimp, prawns, lobster claws, mussels, salad of course, rice, and fried fish. Yesterday, after the German brunch they had an “ice cream social”. All kinds of ice cream, toppings, and liqueurs showed up in the early afternoon. No ice cream today, but tonight a Caviar Extravaganza with champagne in the Mariner Lounge. I have yet to see a line on this ship, but I am betting I’ll see a couple of long ones tonight.

As we continue up the coast of South America, Terry Breen reminded us of Thor Heyerdahl who wanted to explain how sweet potatoes common to South America became a staple of the Polynesian diet. Sweet potatoes don’t float, so how did they get there? In 1947, Thor sailed Kon-Tiki 101 days to show that the agricultural South Americans could have actually transported the sweet potatoes to Polynesia. Since his voyage, more research has been done, and the sweet potatoes have been found to originate in Walmart. Have I been on this boat too long, or what?

Leave a Reply

