At Sea Towards Bora Bora

I’ve been chastised by one of yesterday’s trek team for being negative about the close to 6 mile walk in the hot sun. I guess I was trying to impress by the mere fact that I could do it. At home, a mile poses a challenge, but Tahiti is different (duh). What made yesterdays hike manageable was the silent beauty on each side of the road. After we passed the small settlement, the vibrant blue of the ocean on one side and the green jungle dotted with red and yellow and white flowers became our private place. A car seldom appeared, and when it did I wanted to shout, “Go away, this is my world!”

I was also urged to tell you that I fed the fish at the hotel. On a bridge from the bar to the main area was a bag of bread chunks. Tossing one into the water caused a feeding frenzy of brightly colored fish, some small, some large, but all hungry. My job was to cast a fragment to the fishies that never seemed to get past the bigger mouthed mob. Little did I know that tomorrow I would be in a feeding frenzy with much bigger fish.

OK, it was a good day, but if you’ve never been to a pearl farm, make that your choice.

Sea days are my favorite. As lovely as the islands are they just can’t compete with billowing sails,

img_3213.JPGthe sound of the water swooshing past the bow, and the stillness; no engine noise, no vibration, the only tension is on the mast. Without TV news, internet, or ringing phones; stress is merely a word.

When we are at anchor, the sports team is hard at “work”. Passengers who stay aboard can sail in two man boats, water ski, kayak, or be taken to exceptional diving sites. All of these activities are set up and watched over by the team. I didn’t ask, but my guess is that the sports guys don’t mind the sea days one bit.

img_3184.JPG

 

A sea day on Flyer divides the passengers into three groups. Some lie in the sun, intermittently read, and dunk in one of the pools.

img_3217.JPG

Each of the pools has glass portholes so you can see the pool from bottom up both from the Tropical Lounge and from an interior hallway. Depending on the bikini, there is a subgroup that opts for the underwater view. Then there is the game group. There are card and Scrabble games in progress all over the ship, from the game room to the bar to flat on the foredeck. The third group is the bar group. Hinano (the local beer) is not only a great thirst quencher, but also good conversation starter.

The type of cruisers that sail on Star Clippers are open to experience, are friendly, and interesting. I have met Ling, a lovely lady from Taiwan, Lelia, from North Carolina, and Peter Proper (sic) from Germany, but currently living in Birmingham, Alabama. Some of them are very adventurous. Everyone is offered a chance to climb to the crow’s nest.

img_3172.JPG

I would have done it, but I am not a crow.

Besides the daily deck exercise on mats, every sea day features “Walk A Mile”. “Walk A Mile” is just what it says, but the course is not around the decks, it’s in and out of the dining room, up and down the stairs, through the corridors, to the deck and back again. The main imperative here is to keep up.

I watched while having breakfast. After what must have been well into the mile, stragglers began to materialize. Main group comes by….count to five…..three or four stragglers appear. When the “Walk A Mile” group hit the dining room for the third time, the stragglers showed up after a count of ten. By that time the main group had gone straight through the room. The laggards turned left, never again to be seen.

I read, and tanned, swam, and meditated.

img_3174.JPG

On what, I know not.

The night’s entertainment was line dancing. I did a salsa to my cabin.

Oh, and it looks like I fixed my camera. I hit it with my fist.

2 Responses to “At Sea Towards Bora Bora”

  1. owen edwards Says:

    Avast, Matey…great stuff! This would be my kind of cruise.

  2. owen edwards Says:

    Avast, Matey…great stuff! This would be my kind of cruise.

Leave a Reply

