12 Days Of Cruisemas Last Day

By Geoff Edwards

This is the last day of this voyage and also the last of nine sea days. If you’ve been reading this blog, you know I’ve been traveling alone. After awhile, my mind kind of numbed out. That is why I got interested in egg yolks. The eggs from Vons in Santa Clarita have pale yellow yolks. The eggs on Sojourn are red.

Why is that? Well, no one on the ship seems to know and could care less. The closest I came to an answer was from a gal from Jamaica who said it was the chickens. Well, I suppose so, they come first.

I am now in the midst of packing. Ordinarily, this is not a problem, but I am going to be on the Celebrity Eclipse for two days and need access to clothes. There won’t be any baggage handlers for the Eclipse doings, and they advised to only bring carry-on. Even the world’s strongest man would hesitate to call my 12 days of luggage “carry-on”.

The food on Sojourn defines gourmet. Each night at The Restaurant has been a consuming challenge. It was hard to decide what not to eat as all the entrees were tempting.

Even the vegetarian dishes were out of the ordinary. I do wish that I could have been at the meeting where they named The Restaurant. I am sure that a dozen designations were brought up and turned down. Then, folks, someone said how about calling it The Restaurant? Two to one it was the boss, and that’s why no one quarreled with that uncomplicated appellation.

So what can Celebrity’s Eclipse offer that will compete in the food category.? Well, how about if your food is upside down? Check out my article on Qsine.

Tomorrow off to Miami, then on Wednesday, American Airlines puts a period to this excursion. In December it will Crystal Symphony’s last Mexican Riviera cruise. and if food is still the subject, Michael and I will spend more than one dinner at the sushi bar.

Five dollars will buy you all you can eat.

Sayonara.

One Response to “12 Days Of Cruisemas Last Day”

  1. Michael Says:

    Loved this article, very intertaining and not like any other travel writer I have ever read. A comment to answer his question about the “red” yolks:
    -Beta carotene, or xanthophyll both are natural plant pigments. When hens are able to eat green plant material or yellow corn (factory farm hens are sometimes fed yellow dye to color the yolks), the beta carotene concentrates in the yolk making it dark, sometimes even orange. Eating red peppers makes yolks red, and some plants can make the yolks green or even black…

Leave a comment