Crystal Symphony 2010 Topolobampo

We are in Topolobampo. The reason we made this inaugural stop is to so those who want to transit the Copper Canyon by train can put another notch in their “I’ve been everywhere” belt. It’s almost an 18 hour trip. A 4 hour round trip bus transfer added to an 11 hour round trip train ride with a buffet lunch at the top and dinner on the train heading home. I hope it doesn’t rain.

To me, more fascinating than Copper Canyon, are the indigenous Tarahumara, some of whom still live in the canyon in caves, beneath rock outcroppings on cliffs, or in unpretentious cabins. These settlements are separated by harsh terrain. Today there are cell phones and texting, but before these tech goodies the only way villages could communicate was by messenger.

The Taramumara could literally run for days and I’m told it wasn’t unusual for one of these dudes to run 435 miles in one go. I find that hard to believe, but I understand that the way Tarahumara would hunt their prey was to chase them until their quarry quit, exhausted. Think how green it would be to hire them to deliver pizza. By the way, the rumor that their food staple was snails is yet to be confirmed.

Off in the distance was a town, maybe Topo, maybe not,

but I stayed on the ship to assess some of the refurbs on Symphony.

After 40 days of dry dock in Boston, a new Symphony surfaced. The Neptune pool disappeared and a lovely and comfortable lounging deck took its place. The Jacuzzis were melded into one big one.

That’s not me. I got in later, but didn’t know how to make it bubble. (The controls are in the end of the rectangle.) Be aware it is hot.

I love the couches

and 180 degree chairs.

Two women were in the Chair next to me and a bee that had been buzzing around my Joop shaving cologne decided their suntan oil was a better bet. I have never seen two bathing suited adults jump, and squeal, and leap, and duck, and hand flap with such abandon during their seat to pool scurry.

The Lido

has been pushed out and some of the outdoor space was taken. The tables left are set to accommodate four.

I have adopted a “please sir” face as I carry my plate and slowly walk amongst the twos. More often than not I’m invited to sit and join them. I’ve met some nice people.

My cabin is on Penthouse Deck 10. All penthouse cabins have been beautifully redone; change of layout, carpet, bathroom, etc.

Mine is kept perfectly by Jessica from Chile.

My dining room steward is Jose; wine steward Ana.

They make this a fun table and ease the boredom of eating alone.

In the evening, Nick Lewin, a wonderful sleight of hand magician and maybe the only magician funny enough to make the hoary three ropes into one entertaining,

gave us a peek into the mind of a magician. As his time on stage came close to ending, he checked his watch to see how much longer he had to go. With a HUGE effort I swallowed the urge to yell, *That’s my watch.” You see he had disappeared someone’s watch when he did his major show. Oh well.

Tomorrow Loreto and another production show, “The Envelope Please”.

For the best in cruising it’s AvidCruiser.com

Leave a Reply

